11 minutes

“Today, while we were walking around a lake, the woman who was with me, a writer, a life entirely different from mine – threw a pebble into the water. Small circles appeared where the pebble fell, which grew and grew until they touched a duck that happened to be passing and which had nothing to do with the pebble. Instead of being afraid of the unexpected wave, he decided to play with it.

Some hours before that scene, i went into a coffee shop, heard a voice, and it was as if God had thrown a pebble into that place. The waves of energy touched both me and a woman sitting in a corner writing a poem. She felt the vibrations, and so did I. SO what now?

The writer knows when she has found a subject to write. The musician knows when his instrument is well tuned. I am aware there are certain phrases which are not written by me, but by a man full of “light”; I am that man though I refuse to accept it.

I could carry on like this, but I could also, like the duck on the lake, have fun and take pleasure in that sudden ripple that set the water rocking.

There is a name for that pebble: passion. It can be used to describe the beauty of an earth-shaking meeting between two people, but it isn’t just that. It’s there in the excitement of the unexpected, in the desire to do something with real fervor, in the certainty that one is going to realize a dream. Passion sends us signals that guide us through our lives, and it’s up to me to interpret those signs.

I would like to believe I’m in love. With someone I don’t know and who didn’t figure in my plans at all. All these months of self control, of denying love, have had exactly the opposite result: I have let myself be swept away by the first person to treat me a little different.

It’s just as well I don’t know anything about her. I don’t know what’s in her;  that way I can lose her without having to blame myself for another missed opportunity.

And if that what happens, if I have already lost her, I will at least have gained one very happy day in my life. Considering the way the way the world is, one happy day is almost a miracle.”

About The Hitchhiker

Loving the road. It is where it leads you to somewhere or to your destination. You might be lost sometimes, but the people beside the road will help you. You may also give other people a hitch..... And who knows? He might be me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

